Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon

Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon

Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon
4.5
Historic SitesPoints of Interest & LandmarksArchitectural BuildingsReligious Sites
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Sunday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
About
Dominating the Sablon Square in the center of Brussels, this church was transformed from a chapel into a major gothic church starting in 1436 through the beginning of the 16th century, and truly exemplifies the Brabantine gothic style of architecture.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Plan your visit
The area
Address
How to get there
  • Naamsepoort • 6 min walk
  • Troon • 8 min walk
Reach out directly
See what travelers are saying
  • tmazionsmith
    Saint Paul, Minnesota377 contributions
    Gorgeous stained glass
    This was probably my favorite cathedral that I saw in all of Belgium. The architecture is fantastic, but there is just something extra about this church when the light comes through the stained glass. I was there between 11 and noon; it was pretty much perfect, as there were very few people at that time and the sun was shining in nicely.
    Visited October 2022
    Written December 31, 2022
  • Raintree_Thailand
    Bangkok, Thailand3,760 contributions
    Another impressive church!
    Not as imposing or grand as the cathedral but still very impressive. The church, dating back to the 15th century, has several wonderful stained glass windows and some nice paintings, carved side altars, and a lovely marble statue in back of the main alter. Superb intricate statuary on exterior.
    Visited November 2022
    Written January 21, 2023
  • Hermes_NL 🇳🇱
    Amsterdam, The Netherlands20,081 contributions
    Gorgeous church in lovely area, free to visit
    The Church is in mint condition and has some very beautiful things to see, such as the delicately carved pulpit and the two baroque chapels in the back. Entrance is free. The petit Sablon (kleine Zavel) park right opposite the church is also a lovely place to visit.
    Visited June 2023
    Traveled solo
    Written June 5, 2023
  • Leonhkny
    Hong Kong, China14,185 contributions
    Small Notre-Dame in Brussels
    This is an impressive church in downtown Brussels. Garnished with a pleasant garden, Eglise Notre-Dame du Sablon is a lovely place to explore while in the Belgian capital. The huge, Gothic church remains serene and peaceful amid the tourist crowd.
    Visited June 2023
    Written June 14, 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
2,033 reviews
Excellent
967
Very good
905
Average
149
Poor
9
Terrible
3

Bob K
Fairfax, VA2,234 contributions
Dec 2019
The Church of Our Lady of Victory at the Sablon is one of the most beautiful churches in Brussels. It's a wonderful example of the late-Gothic flamboyance with lots of other architectural sites inside: baroque chapels of the Thurn and Taxis family, the postmasters of the Habsburgs since the 15th century, for instance, can be found on either side of the choir. The church also has lots of paintings and valuable sculptures by Hieronymus Duquesnoy de Jonge, Mattheus van Beveren, Jan van Delen, Gabriel Grupello and many more. One of their treasures is the boat of Beatrijs Soetken which she used to convey a statue of Mather Mary from Antwerp to Brussels, or so legend tells us. Every year since its arrival, the crossbowmen carry the statue around the church in a procession, an event that would eventually grow into the Ommegang of Brussels which still starts off at the Sablon and ends on the Grand Place. The stained-glass windows of the 16th to 20th century, then, show us the ties the church has had prominent families through history. The sculptures in the entrances of the church all date from the 20th century, the south portal richly decorated with numerous Biblical figures. The tympanum above the entrance door to the church depicts a Christ figure surrounded by scores of saints and was already there when Robert Campin around 1420 painted his Marriage of the Virgin, now in the Prado in Madrid. Allow ~ 1 hr for your visit.
Written February 12, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

tmazionsmith
Saint Paul, MN377 contributions
Oct 2022
This was probably my favorite cathedral that I saw in all of Belgium. The architecture is fantastic, but there is just something extra about this church when the light comes through the stained glass. I was there between 11 and noon; it was pretty much perfect, as there were very few people at that time and the sun was shining in nicely.
Written December 31, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Kufunda
Harare, Zimbabwe356 contributions
Sep 2022
Of all the churches I visited in Brussels, this was the most spectacular in terms of the number of stained glass windows depicting religious figures, some as recent as the 20th Century, and coats of arms of various prominent families impacted by WW 11. As is the trend, aspects of the church are from various parts of Belgium, including Antwerp, and there are two organs. The place is functional and dense with history and religious art. Well worth a visit.
Written September 9, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Raintree_Thailand
Bangkok, Thailand3,760 contributions
Nov 2022
Not as imposing or grand as the cathedral but still very impressive. The church, dating back to the 15th century, has several wonderful stained glass windows and some nice paintings, carved side altars, and a lovely marble statue in back of the main alter. Superb intricate statuary on exterior.
Written January 22, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Hermes_NL 🇳🇱
Amsterdam, The Netherlands20,081 contributions
Jun 2023 • Solo
The Church is in mint condition and has some very beautiful things to see, such as the delicately carved pulpit and the two baroque chapels in the back. Entrance is free. The petit Sablon (kleine Zavel) park right opposite the church is also a lovely place to visit.
Written June 6, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Ugo C
Reykjavik, Iceland757 contributions
Jun 2022
This church is amazing. So much detail, so much history within it. You can spend hours just staring at it, from inside or out. Also, the best views and photos can be taken from the park across the street.
Written June 28, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Leonhkny
Hong Kong, China14,185 contributions
Jun 2023
This is an impressive church in downtown Brussels. Garnished with a pleasant garden, Eglise Notre-Dame du Sablon is a lovely place to explore while in the Belgian capital. The huge, Gothic church remains serene and peaceful amid the tourist crowd.
Written June 15, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

RjessMMM
Vancouver, WA564 contributions
Nov 2022
Spectacular gothic church with amazing stained glass. Relaxing atmosphere with an amazing interior. It was a nice respite from the cold weather. Just a wonderful place to visit and look back at fondly when you get back home.
Written November 20, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

macedonboy
Glasgow, UK179,496 contributions
Sep 2019
The Church of Our Blessed Lady of the Sablon is a church that must have one of the finest collections of stained glass windows in all the churches of Brussels. The church is slightly unusual in have equally stunning stained glass windows on two levels. Much of the subject matter is saints and medieval rulers of Northern Europe. The exterior and much of the interior is clearly gothic, but it does have two beautiful Baroque chapels on either side of the high altar. One chapel is dedicated to Saint Ursula and the other to Saint Marcouf, both of which are decorated with superbly ornate sculptures and beautifully translucent white marbles.

In my humble opinion, this church should be on any itinerary for Brussels.
Written September 8, 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

avist80
Gorinchem, The Netherlands99 contributions
Oct 2012 • Couples
There are several tourist spots near this so everyone could include this in his/her route. It only takes a couple of minutes to see what's inside. There is also a park opposite if anyone wants to relax or rest afterwards. The interior and stained glass are really awesome.
Written October 29, 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 571
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon, Brussels

Frequently Asked Questions about Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon


Restaurants near Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon: View all restaurants near Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon on Tripadvisor

Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon Information

Excellent Reviews

966

Very Good Reviews

905

Notre-Dame des Victoires au Sablon Photos

1,931